Blog Tour The Sweetheart Sham (Southern Charmed, #1) by Danielle Ellison (Review & Giveaway!)

Click the banner to follow the tour!

The Sweetheart Sham (Southern Charmed #1) by Danielle Ellison

Publication Date: December 4, 2017

Publisher: Entangled Teen: Crush

Summary/Cover Image from Publisher's Website:
In a small town like Culler, South Carolina, you guard your secrets like you guard your cobbler recipe: with your life. Georgia Ann Monroe knows a thing or two about secrets: she’s been guarding the truth that her best friend Will is gay for years now. But what happens when a little white lie to protect him gets her into a fake relationship…and then the boy of her dreams shows up?

Enter Beau Montgomery: Georgie’s first love, hotter than ever, and much too much of a southern gentleman to ever pursue someone else’s girl. There’s no way to come clean to Beau while still protecting Will. But bless their hearts, they live in Culler—where secrets always have a way of revealing themselves.

Disclaimer: This Entangled Teen Crush book contains a hilarious “fakeship,” a scorching-hot impossible relationship, and a heartwarming best-friendship that will make you want to call your best friend right here, right now.

As soon as I saw the cover and the summary for Danielle Ellison's The Sweetheart Sham, I knew I had to have it! I mean, a small town setting, a fake relationship, AND a second chance romance? My YA contemporary loving heart was beating rapidly with excitement and hope.

The Result? The Sweetheart Sham was not good not great but EXCELLENT! Combining delicious southern charm, heartwarming characters, and a swoon worthy romance, The Sweetheart Sham is yet another wonderful addition to YA contemporary, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen!

The Sweetheart Sham introduces us to Georgia Ann Monroe and Beau Montgomery.

Georgia Ann Monroe is the ultimate people pleaser, which is how she ends up not only as her mother's trusted wedding assistant (a. k. a. 24/7 errand girl) but also as fake girlfriend to her best friend Will. From the first page, I admired Georgia Ann's dedication to the ones she loved. Her friendship with Will was sweet and heartwarming. I thought it was amazing how far she would go to protect him from suffering a broken heart while also urging him to be strong and true to himself. I also loved her relationship with her family. Yes, her mother was overbearing, but it was easy to see how much they loved each other. Plus, Georgia Ann's father always had me laughing - I loved how he could escape the madness by going to his shed. As the book progressed, however, it was easy to see there was a part of Georgia Ann missing: the spark and feistiness that used to make her...well her. With the reappearance of Beau back in town, Georgia Ann starts to regain those traits. She lets loose, stands up for what she thinks is right, and even starts to fall in love in the process. I loved the transition!

Beau, on the other hand, is confused yet hopeful. When he left Culler all those years ago he left behind a mess in the form of a broken heart - two to be exact. Now back in Culler, he wants to make it right. Like Georgia Ann, I found Beau incredibly easy to like. He was this perfect mix between perfect and imperfect. I adored his humor and his determination. At times it broke my heart,that he wouldn't mend the fences with his father, or give his mother the answer she wanted; however, as the book progressed, Beau starts to grow up and learn a lot in the process.

The plot in The Sweetheart Sham mostly revolves around Beau and Georgia Ann's second chance at love, the wedding of the summer, and the friendship between Beau, Georgia Ann, and Will. In all of these plot lines, however, one theme was present throughout: being strong, true to yourself, and willing to stand up for what you believe in. Tying in with that, I liked the fact that Danielle included Will's conflict over coming out. I felt that she did a great job of making it realistic, and I especially loved that she gave him such a great ally in the form of Georgia Ann.

In all, The Sweetheart Sham is just like a cup of sweet tea - refreshing and sweet enough that it will have you craving for more, more, more. I can't wait to see whose story is up next. Personally, I'm hoping for Will and his mystery man!

Grade: A-

The Sweetheart Sham is now out! 

Source: eARC provided by publicist 

Buy Links: 

About the Author: 
Danielle Ellison is a nomad, always on the lookout for an adventure and the next story. In addition to writing, she’s the founder and coordinator of the NoVa TEEN Book Festival. When she’s not busy with books, she’s probably watching her favorite shows, drinking coffee, or fighting her nomadic urges. She is newly settled in Oklahoma (for now) with her cat, Simon, but you can always find her on twitter @DanielleEWrites.


The Sweetheart Sham Prize Pack (US):
-Pampering goodies (sweet southern soap and bath bombs)
-a “peanut butter <3s jelly” mug
-ice cream erasers
-heart shaped sunglasses
-a copy of “Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit” by Jaye Robin Brown

a Rafflecopter giveaway


  1. This sounds like a wonderful book! I am so glad that you enjoyed it as much as you did, Lauren!

  2. I thought the friendships were really special in this one, and I always love an adorable romance.


I love comments so never be afraid to leave one!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Design by Imagination Designs
Artwork by www.CreateTheCut.com