Review: They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera

Summary/Cover Image from Publisher's Website
New York Times bestselling author Adam Silvera reminds us that there’s no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day. 4 starred reviews!

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure—to live a lifetime in a single day.

In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, They Both Die at the End is a tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera, whose debut, More Happy Than Not, the New York Times called “profound.”

"No matter how we choose to live, we both die at the end." pg. 79, hardcover edition 

They Both Die at the End has to be one of the most talked about books of the fall - if not the year. Everyone seems to love it - so much so that I was worried about reading it. What if I didn't love it as much as everyone else? What if I didn't see the greatness? That's happened before for me with highly anticipated books, and I can't express to you all how much I didn't want that to happen here.

The result? They Both Die at the End was absolutely amazing, a I-know-should-go-to-bed-like-a-responsible-adult-but-I-just-CAN'T-put-this-down kind of book.

I cheered.
I laughed.
I cried tears of happiness as well as tears of sadness.
I low key prayed that deep down the title was a lie - that they weren't going to die at the end... I mean, Mateo and and Rufus deserved so much life! How could Adam break my heart like that?
Basically, this book was one heck of a roller coaster of feelings!  

The part that I loved the most about They Both Die at the End? The characters of course!

I loved how Adam presented two complete opposites - Mateo who was so afraid to live and Rufus who was the definition of a rebel. They both managed to not only challenge each other in ways that were so desperately needed but also provide the other with the support and love. Rufus pushed for Mateo to take risks, to ride bikes and not be afraid of falling off, while Mateo challenged Rufus to think about the tough parts of his past and the fears and doubts he had because of it. Mateo was quiet and sweet and, most importantly, so incredibly caring. He is someone that I would so want on my side if he was real...the ways in which he would go out of his way for his best friend and dad? They just brought out so many feels. Rufus was reckless and rebellious...but as most rebels do, he had a heart of gold underneath it all. His loyalty to the Plutos was admirable to see. I especially loved seeing the risks the Plutos took to give Rufus the best last day possible.

Adam Silvera's writing was also another high point of They Both Die at the End. I loved the way in which he crafted the story. His pacing was well timed in the way that it brought just the right amount of suspense and the perfect amount of character development. He also did a fantastic job of switching between POVs, and talking about POVs, I loved how he included not just Mateo and Rufus's POVS but those of other characters as well - ones whose lives crossed with Mateo and Rufus whether they knew it or not. It brought such a great look into this world. It also  gave better understanding into not only those who were going to die but the Death Cast system as a whole. 

In all, I could go on and on about this book forever; however, I'll save you from that and instead end with this: READ THIS BOOK.

As others have said before, They Both Die at the End is a celebration of life. It's about taking those risks and leaps, about not always knowing what is going to be on the other side, but knowing deep down that everything will work it's way out. I'm so incredibly honored to have gotten the chance to know Mateo and Rufus, and I can't wait for you to meet them as well.


Make sure you have a box of tissues on hand!

Grade: A+ 

They Both Die at the End is now out!

Source: hardcover provided by publisher - thanks HarperCollins!! 

Buy Links: 

Author Links: 


  1. I'm hesitant to read this because it's so hyped up right now, but your review makes me question that decision! I love when books make me cry, and this sounds like one that could definitely do that. Great review!

    1. Thanks, Angela! I was honestly worried about the hype too, but it ended up being worth the risk. Hope you love it when/if you read it!

  2. Ahhh this one is everywhere right now, and I really want to get my hands on it, but I hate being sad! haha! I always put off reading books that I know are going to make me sad/cry. I have to build up the courage to read them. hahaha! I'm so glad you loved this one. Great review!

    1. haha so do I! So it was hard one to start, but once I got going, I couldn't put it down. So worth a read, just make sure you have some really happy books after it!


I love comments so never be afraid to leave one!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Design by Imagination Designs
Artwork by www.CreateTheCut.com