18.1.18

Release Day Blitz: Thrive by Aly Martinez



Today I'm helping spread the word about Aly Martinez's latest book Thrive (out today!). Thrive is the second book in the Guardian Protection series and it can be read as a complete standalone.



Thrive by Aly Martinez (Guardian Protection, #2) 

Purchase the ebook on Amazon (Kindle Unlimited)
Purchase the Audiobook | Purchase the Paperback

Synopsis:
Technically, you aren’t supposed to fall in love with your best friend’s girl.

When I was nineteen years old, I was faced with a choice that changed my life.

Keep the safety of what I already knew or risk losing everything with the young, hotheaded soldier who stole my heart.

I chose the wrong man, and for seventeen years, I paid in tears, blood, and shattered dreams for that decision.

Now, there’s a man in my house, holding a gun to my head on the order of my ex-husband—given from his prison cell.

That hotheaded soldier I was too afraid to choose? He’s now a six-foot-three wall of muscle who works at the country’s most premier bodyguard agency. I’ve always wanted him, but now, I’ve never needed him more.

It’s the call I’m terrified to make.

I’m sure he still hates me… Even though I’ve never stopped loving him.





----------------------------

The previous book in the Guardian Protection Series: 



SINGE is the first book in the Guardian Protection Series and is FREE in KindleUnlimited


---------------------

AUTHOR INFORMATION:


Originally from Savannah, Georgia, USA Today bestselling author Aly Martinez now lives in South Carolina with her four young children. Never one to take herself too seriously, she enjoys cheap wine, mystery leggings, and baked feta. It should be known, however, that she hates pizza and ice cream, almost as much as writing her bio in the third person. She passes what little free time she has reading anything and everything she can get her hands on, preferably with a super-sized tumbler of wine by her side.
AUTHOR LINKS:


InkSlinger-Blogger banner-New

17.1.18

Waiting on Wednesday (166)


Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.


The Ever After by Sarah Pekkanen  
(June 5, 2018!) 


In this intricate and enthralling domestic drama, perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Affair, the internationally bestselling author of the “gossipy page-turner” (GlamourThe Perfect Neighbors goes deep into a marriage in crisis, peeling back layers of secrets to discover where the relationship veered off course—and whether it is worth saving.

Josie and Frank Moore are happy…at least Josie thinks they are. As parents of two young girls in the Chicago suburbs, their days can be both busy and monotonous, and sometimes Josie wonders how she became a harried fortysomething mother rather than the driven career woman she once was. But Frank is a phenomenal father, he’s handsome and charismatic, and he still looks at his wife like she’s the beautiful woman he married more than a decade ago. Josie isn’t just happy—she’s lucky.

Until one Saturday morning when Josie borrows her husband’s phone to make a quick call—and sees nine words that shatter her world.

Now Josie feels as if she is standing at the edge of a sharp precipice. As she looks back at pivotal moments in the relationship she believed would last forever, she is also plunging ahead, surprising everyone (especially herself) with how far she will go to uncover the extent of her husband’s devastating secret.

With her “conversational writing style and a knack for making readers care about her characters” (The Washington Post) bestselling author Sarah Pekkanen paints a vivid, kaleidoscopic portrait of a marriage before and during a crisis—and of a woman who fears that the biggest secret of all may be the one she’s hiding from herself.
Since The Wife Between Us (Sarah's book with Greer Hendricks) was released in January I wasn't expecting another book from her this year. So I was beyond excited when I stumbled upon this on Goodreads. Sarah is one of my favorite contemporary writers (if you haven't read Skipping a Beat yet you're missing out big time!), and I can't wait to see how she explores life and marriage in this book. 

Find out More about the Author:

Review: Lie With Me by Sabine Durrant



Synopsis/Cover Image from Amazon
It starts with a lie. The kind we've all told - to a former acquaintance we can't quite place but still, for some reason, feel the need to impress. The story of our life, embellished for the benefit of the happily married lawyer with the kids and the lovely home.

And the next thing you know, you're having dinner at their house, and accepting an invitation to join them on holiday - swept up in their perfect life, the kind you always dreamed of...

Which turns out to be less than perfect. But by the time you're trapped and sweating in the relentless Greek sun, burning to escape the tension all around you - by the time you start to realise that, however painful the truth might be, it's the lies that cause the real damage...

... well, by then, it could just be too late.
Review:

A mind blowing psychological thriller! 

When I started Lie With Me the other morning I never expected to finish it in one day; however, once I started I couldn't stop. I kept saying 'one more chapter, one more chapter.' 

The characters aren't particularly likable. I actually despised the majority of them, but there's something about their respective stories that made them so utterly compelling. I wanted to know more about everyone- their wants, their needs, what made them tick, and, more importantly, what secrets they were hiding. I often wondered if Paul, the lead character, was an unreliable narrator because of his memory gaps. I couldn't believe he could possibly forget that much about his past.

The plot, however, is what kept me coming back for more. The mystery is complex as well as gripping. I couldn't believe at times that everything was built upon one lie that turned into a million other lies. It's crazy how lies - big as well as small - can change the course of one's life so drastically. Additionally, I liked the secluded setting. I knew it was going to end badly as soon as Paul arrived at the beach house. Over the course of the book, I had several theories as to how it would end. Some of those theories ended up being true, and others ended up blowing me away. Sabine connected so many little pieces seamlessly. It was spectacular to see how well everything came together. 

Overall, Lie With Me is a suspenseful, unforgettable thriller. It's easy to see why it has become such a sensation in the UK. I can't wait to read more by Sabine Durrant. 


4 stars!!

Lie With Me is now out!

Source: Publisher



Buy Links: 


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Design by Imagination Designs
Artwork by www.CreateTheCut.com